Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
NASW/TX Branches - Houston
Share |


Houston Branch

The Houston Branch of NASW/Texas covers the following counties: Austin, Colorado, Fort Bend, Harris, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Walker, Waller, Wharton.

Schools of Social Work in the Houston Branch include: University of Houston Graduate School of Social Work, University of Houston - Clear Lake (BSW program only), Texas Southern University - Houston (BSW Program) and Prairie View A&M University (BSW Program).



Steering Committee

Crystal Sallans
, LCSW, Branch Chair (2015-2017)
Steven Lee Parks, LMSW, Nomination and Leadership Identification Committee Representative (2014-2017)
Chloe Walker, LMSW, Region 6 Board Member (2015-2018)

Elizabeth Gonzalez, Treasurer
Josephine Tittsworth, LBGT Committee Member
Jillian Bissar, Networking Chair
Januari Leo, TPACE Committee Member


Around the State


Watch your email or contact Crystal Sallans for more information.




february workshop

"Trauma, Legal Channels and Forensic Evaluations for Immigrant Survivors:

Save a Life and Do What You Know How to Do" (1.5 CEU credits)


Thursday, February 9, 2017
6:00 PM-8:00 PM
United Way of Greater Houston
50 Waugh Drive, Room CD

Are you searching for ways to use your professional skills to give back to the community in 2017? Join NASW Houston for an introduction to working with survivors of violence who are applying for immigration relief based on traumatic experiences such domestic violence, sexual violence, female genital mutilation/cutting, and forced marriage. Social workers play an important role as experts in the field of trauma and the impact it has on immigrant survivors. You have the power to save a life by evaluating courageous survivors and presenting a report to immigration officials both in and outside of the court system. Come learn about the legal systems at play, the role of an expert evaluator, and the clinical tools and strategies you will use to evaluate clients.

Presented By:
Rosalie Hyde, LCSW; Faculty, Houston-Galveston Trauma Institute
Jessica Howton, JD; Managing Attorney, Tahirih Justice Center

$15 for NASW members; $20 for non-members

NOTE: Please RSVP to Subject line, “RSVP CEU Feb. 9th”

>>Printable PDF flyer<< (Please share!)



branch awardees


2016 NASW/Houston Branch Awardees


Lifetime Achievement – Travis Courville

Mr. Courville’s commitment to social work has been evident in his years of practice.  He has been involved in many aspects of social work throughout his career.  He was worked with the homeless population, the veterans community and various aspects of clinical social work.  Mr. Courville’s passion, knowledge and expertise has been passed on to his students at the University of Houston Graduate College of Social Work.  Mr. Courville has proven himself to be a man of character, exceptional clinical aptitude and commitment.  He is dedicated, diligent and passionate about his work the work of the clientele he serves. 


Social Worker of the Year – Januari Leo

Januari Leo has made significant contributions to the social work profession.  Throughout her professional career she has embodied the essence of social work values and the importance of social justice.  Januari serves on several committees in Houston, the state of Texas and within the National Association of Social Workers.


Student of the Year – Twaunette Sharpe

Twaunette has contributed to her community by volunteering with children at the Sehah Fitness Center, tutoring in the after-school program and volunteering to read to children at KIPP Peace Elementary School.  She also serves by volunteering at Search Homeless Services and Healthcare for Homeless and the Beacon. 


Public Elected Office of the Year – Anna Eastman

At a time when Texas public schools are under attack at both a financial and operational level, education advocates are critical to the process of relaying fact and experience based evidence in an effort to ensure that ALL children are given an equal opportunity education.  Utilizing her background as a social worker, Houston Independent School District Trustee , Anna Eastman, has fought for transparency, equality and inclusion in the largest school district in Texas. 


Media of the Year – Greg Groogan

Mr. Groogan has been a powerful advocate for children diagnosed with intellectual development disabilities in the school setting.  He is also a champion for impoverished and disempowered citizens through his investigative reporting.  His reporting has led to the creation of legislation that improves children’s and educator’s safety in the school setting and that has protected public citizens from mistreatment. 


Public Citizen of the Year – Fran Watson

Fran served as the Disability Hospitality subcommittee chair for the 26th national Conference on LGBT Equality: Creating Change and currently serving on the Houston Bar Association’s Lawyers for Literacy and the Minority Opportunities in the Legal Profession Committees.  Fran was involved int eh fight for the Houston Equal Rights Ordnance (HERO); Fran is also the President of GLBT Political Caucus.  Fran was elected to serve as board president of Montrose Grace Place, whose mission is to provide a safe, welcoming environment for vulnerable homeless youth of all sexualities and genders. 


If you have any questions about upcoming networking events, please contact Crystal Sallans.






Follow us on Facebook and Twitter!




more Calendar

10/5/2017 » 10/7/2017
2017 Conference Exhibitor & Sponsorship Registration

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal